Longest Lunar Eclipse In 580 Years Is Happening THIS WEEK

Longest Lunar Eclipse In 580 Years Is Happening THIS WEEK

Nature

Longest Lunar Eclipse In 580 Years Is Happening THIS WEEK

By

A partial lunar eclipse will take place on November 18/19. While it is designated as a “partial” eclipse, it will be extremely close to a total eclipse as 97% of the moon will be covered by the earth’s shadow. The 3-hour and 28-minute lunar eclipse will be more than double the duration of the 2018 eclipse.

For those of us who need a refresher, an eclipse occurs when Earth is positioned in between the moon and the sun. The Earth’s shadow falls on the moon depriving it of light. Even during a total eclipse, the moon is still visible in a rusty red color. Even though Earth is blocking the moon from receiving direct sunlight, the Earth’s atmosphere is able to allow some light to bend around the earth and reach the moon.

The eclipse will be visible in the overnight hours of November 18th into the morning of the 19th. EarthSky has a schedule outlining when it will be visible. You aren’t going to want to miss this one.

Eastern Standard Time: 2:18 AM – 5:47 AM – Max Eclipse at 4:03 AM

Central Standard Time: 1:18 AM – 4:47 AM – Max Eclipse at 3:03 AM

Mountain Standard Time: 12:18 AM – 3:47 AM – Max Eclipse at 2:03 AM

Pacific Standard Time: 11:18 PM – 2:47 AM – Max Eclipse at 1:03 AM

Images From: Meteorologist Max Tsaparis Facebook Page, Chris Michaels WSLS 10 News Facebook Page, Aristegui Noticias Facebook Page

More Unofficial Networks