LIVE STREAM: SpaceX First Crewed Spaceflight @ 4:33 p.m. EDT

LIVE STREAM: SpaceX First Crewed Spaceflight @ 4:33 p.m. EDT

Uncategorized

LIVE STREAM: SpaceX First Crewed Spaceflight @ 4:33 p.m. EDT

By

It’s a historic day for space exploration as SpaceX is “go for launch” on their first-ever crewed spaceflight set to take off from Cape Canaveral later today. The mission scheduled for 4:33 p.m. EDT is Commercial Crew Demo-2, the culmination of its Crew Dragon human spacecraft development program, which will carry NASA astronauts Doug Hurley and Bob Behnken to the International Space Station. Set a reminder on your phone, this is a monumental step for modern space exploration:

“SpaceX is targeting Wednesday, May 27 for Falcon 9’s launch of Crew Dragon’s second demonstration (Demo-2) mission from Launch Complex 39A (LC-39A) at NASA’s Kennedy Space Center in Florida. This test flight with NASA astronauts Bob Behnken and Doug Hurley on board the Dragon spacecraft will return human spaceflight to the United States.

The instantaneous launch window opens at 4:33 p.m. EDT, or 20:33 UTC, with backup instantaneous launch opportunities available on Saturday, May 30 at 3:22 p.m. EDT, or 19:22 UTC, and on Sunday, May 31 at 3:00 p.m. EDT, or 19:00 UTC. Tune in here to watch the launch webcast. Coverage will begin about 4 hours before liftoff.

Demo-2 is the final major test for SpaceX’s human spaceflight system to be certified by NASA for operational crew missions to and from the International Space Station. SpaceX is returning human spaceflight to the United States with one of the safest, most advanced systems ever built, and NASA’s Commercial Crew Program is a turning point for America’s future in space exploration that lays the groundwork for future missions to the Moon, Mars, and beyond.”

 

 

 

 

More Unofficial Networks
Home