Starting this week, all motorists in Colorado must follow the expansion of the Move Over Law. This new bill, signed by Governor Jared Polis after unanimously passing the state senate, expands protections to all stationary vehicles (previously, protections were only in place for emergency responders). If you are planning on driving in Colorado anytime soon, here’s what you need to know:

“HB23-1123 (requires) drivers to move over a lane whenever they encounter any stationary vehicle on a highway with its hazards flashing — and if they can’t move over, they must slow down to at least 20 mph below the posted speed limit.”Colorado Department of Transportation (CDOT)

Failure to comply with this law will result in a $150 fine and 3 license points. However, fines can increase to $100,000 and prison time if failure to comply results in injury or death. This new bill is being taken very seriously across the state, as 2022 was the deadliest year on Colorado roadways.

If you are planning on a trip to Colorado like many skiers do each year, please keep this new law in mind when you are heading down I-70 from the airport. Additionally, as my personal plea, please also be mindful of the traction law that is in effect from Sept 1 through May 31 every year. You can check out CDOT’s social media announcement of the law below:

Photos and Video Courtesy of the Colorado Department of Transportation