The Garden State will require skiers and snowboarders at ski resorts who are under 18 years of age to wear ski/snowboard helmets. This helmet law goes into effect on Sunday, October 30th, 2011. New Jersey is the first state in the USA to implement a ski/board helmet law.
Fines will range from $25 – $100. Based on what, we don’t know.
Questions for New Jersey:
– Who is going to enforce these laws?
– How will ski resorts implement these changes?
– How much will it cost New Jersey to advertise, enforce, & monitor these laws?
– What qualifies as a ski/snowboard helmet?
A Federal Consumer Products Safety Commissions study found that helmet use could prevent more than 7,000 head injuries per year, particularly among the young. – usatoday.com
Questions for You:
– Is this law going to be effective in lowering head injuries in the 18 and under crowd at ski resorts?
– Do we need the government telling us how to behave?
– Have our freedoms been diminished by this law?
– Are cops fast enough on skis to catch you and give you a ticket?
– Will there be a big spike in ski/board helmet sales in Jersey this winter?
California almost passed a similar law this summer. CA Helmet Law Vetoed by Gov. Brown.