McConkey Cup

McConkey Cup


McConkey Cup


The Reno Gazette-Journal brings us this story about the new McConkey Cup which will be awarded to the winner of the- FWT 2010 Championships.

The winner of the 2010 Championships will be awarded the McConkey Cup, in honor of Tahoe-area skier Shane McConkey.

“With the addition of two international stops, over $100,000 in prize money, and continuous live coverage, the Subaru Freeskiing World Tour is stronger than ever,” said Mountain Sport International president and tour organizer Adam Comey. “And to honor our good friend and legendary skier Shane McConkey — who founded this sport and the IFSA — the overall World Tour champions will be awarded with the McConkey Cup. This sport was his vision and we intend to keep it thriving for years to come.”

McConkey died in a freeskiing accident in Italy in March.

Other FWT stops include Revelstoke, Canada; Crested Butte, Colo.; and La Parva, Chile.

More Unofficial Networks